Skip to main content

A Year of Injustice: The One-Year Anniversary of Vladimir Kara-Murza’s Wrongful, Unlawful, and Arbitrary Detention

Image courtesy of Free Russia Foundation

One year ago, Vladimir Kara-Murza was arbitrarily detained near his home in Moscow after denouncing Russia’s war on Ukraine. As an outspoken advocate for a free Russia, political opposition leader, journalist, and historian, Kara-Murza has been a courageous promoter of democratic values and fundamental human rights.

Kara-Murza’s almost year-long pretrial detention has faced multiple extensions as increasingly serious charges have been brought against him, including “spreading false information” for speaking freely about the atrocities of Putin’s regime. With recent news of Kara-Murza’s deteriorating health in prison, the need for his immediate release has become even more urgent. We must continue to speak out about Kara-Murza and the around 600 other political prisoners in Russia today.

The Free Russia FoundationGeorge W. Bush InstituteGlobal Magnitsky Justice CampaignHuman Rights FirstMcCain InstituteNational Endowment for DemocracyRaoul Wallenberg Center for Human Rights, and the Reagan Institute have been working to advocate for Kara-Murza’s release and accountability for those involved in his persecution. Join us as we bring together experts, activists, and policymakers to discuss Kara-Murza’s current detention, mechanisms for his release, and the prospects for a free and democratic Russia.



Senator Ben Cardin (D-Maryland)
U.S. Senator for Maryland

Senator Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina)
U.S. Senator for South Carolina

Representative Steve Cohen (D-TN)
9th District of Tennessee, U.S. House of Representatives

Representative Bill Keating (D-MA)
9th Congressional District of Massachusetts, U.S. House of Representatives

Evgenia Kara-Murza, keynote remarks
Activist and Spouse of Vladimir Kara-Murza

Natalia Arno
President, Free Russia Foundation

Bill Browder
Founder, Global Magnitsky Justice Campaign

Ellen Bork
Fellow, George W. Bush Institute

Irwin Cotler (Video)
International Chair, Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights

Evelyn Farkas
Executive Director, McCain Institute

David E. Hoffman
Journalist, Editorial Board, Washington Post

Adam Keith
Director for Accountability, Human Rights First

Damon Wilson
President and CEO, National Endowment for Democracy

Additional speakers to be confirmed.

U.S. Capitol Visitor Center’s Senate Meeting Room SVC 208-09
Apr 19, 2023
3:00pm ET